new year’s REVOLUTION

New Year’s Revolution! Well, maybe it’s not a revolution. I just called the post that to get your attention.

Normally I don’t do New Year’s resolutions. I used to, back in the day when I also thought that my mum had remarkably similar handwriting to Father Christmas, but then I got disillusioned with Life. Ugh, it happens. But after reading my friend Andrea’s inspiring post on her slightly different New Year’s resolution, I decided that perhaps I should be less of a grouch. (Stop laughing.)

So I hereby present: A Different Daylight’s New Year’s Revolution. Or, the astonishing idea that what I want to do isn’t going to be something that I achieve in January, feel guilty about in February, and forget about in March.

banksy says follow your dreamsThis is not what we’re aiming for, people.

And how, you ask, in that demanding way you have, am I going to make that happen? Simples, as a famous meerkat once said: I will make my resolution achievable, and I will make there be only one of it. (The last part of that sentence was upsettingly awful, I apologise.)

Exposing yourself at the gym, and a magnet

You remember my friend Liz, right? She wrote an hilarious and amazing guest post here back in September, and if you haven’t read it yet you need to do so now.

Now, I said! Just click the link!

Write. Every. Day.

In addition to being all kinds of awesome, she also read my mind and got me the item in the picture above. (It’s a magnet btw.) But more importantly, it bears the words of my New Year’s Revoluuuuution: 

WRITE. EVERY. DAY.

Yeah, I know. Not revolutionary in the slightest. But it might just be the key, the best thing, the most important thing for me to remember. Because I’m supposed to be a writer. And as has been pointed out:

Writing is a muscle. Smaller than a hamstring and slightly bigger than a bicep, and it needs to be exercised to get stronger. Think of your words as reps, your paragraphs as sets, your pages as daily workouts. Think of your laptop as a machine like the one at the gym where you open and close your inner thighs in front of everyone, exposing both your insecurities and your genitals. Because that is what writing is all about.

You see, as well as inflicting this blog on all of you dear, patient readers, I’m also lucky enough to get paid for producing words in a day job. But it’s all non-fiction. (Please don’t mentally insert the word ‘boring’ when you read the word ‘non-fiction’, or I will come to your house and put spiders in your saucepans.) (Not a metaphor, or a euphemism.)

I feel that while my non-fiction muscle is getting a good almost-daily workout, my fiction muscle is wasting awaaaay. (And my actual muscle is fictional, because I barely even know what a gym is, let alone actually darkening the doors of one.) So I’m going to amend my Re(s/v)olution slightly, and force myself to 

WRITE. FICTION. EVERY. DAY.

Who knows what will come out the other side? Maybe I’ll stop writing upsettingly awful sentences like the one further up this post (easily recognised by my apology for it being upsettingly awful). Maybe one day I’ll have some fiction I’m not terrified to show anyone. That really would be a revolution. Maybe some of it will appear here, on this very blog, this one you’re reading right now.

What you must do

Your role in this Great Experiment is to harass me relentlessly. Fo serious. Email me, text me, comment on this blog, tweet me, and force me into fessing up to the success or otherwise of the New Year’s Revolution.

The Revolution starts here. And you’re part of it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
11 Comments

Filed under the human condition

11 responses to “new year’s REVOLUTION

  1. Your post title reminded me of this: http://www.happletea.com/2013/01/01/viva-la-resolution/ 🙂

    As long as it’s a writing revolution and not a plan to ruin the infrastructure of some poor country, I say that’s a fantastic revolution and good luck! Also the magnet is pretty cool.

  2. Boring.

    But you are right. Writing should be exercised and taken care of. Much more so than your abs or cholesterol. *looks down. *sighs.

    My Blog was created with the same purpose, but I haven’t been too serious about it, considering I use the word ‘awesome’ every 3 sentences. It became redundant. So I’m putting in more effort. And your post has motivated the crap out of me. (I spell checked this comment. 😀 )

    I’m with you! Vive La Revolution!

    • Hmm, interesting thought: how many great writers also had great abs? Probably not that many – they were generally too busy being great writers to get to the gym.

      Heh..glad you were motivated =] I too am guilty of overuse of the word ‘awesome’.. It’s a tough one to avoid because it’s so useful.

  3. Yup. Me too. (For me it’s about writing fiction as opposed to not writing at all … or spending too much time blogging and, well, none at all on fiction. In Nov. I did NaNoWriMo and found out I COULD do it, but fell out of the habit as soon as I hit that magic 50,000.)

    At the risk of being too self-promotional, I want to invite you to come look at my Writer’s Monthly Progress Challenge. I would love to have someone with similar goals join me.

    http://theparanormalist.wordpress.com/wrimoprog-home/

  4. Brilliant! You’ve chosen a very appropriate 20 Mile March. And trust me, I will be reminding you of it. Have you written fiction today yet? Have you? 🙂

  5. Pingback: a revelation about the revolution; or, making writing easier | a different daylight

  6. Pingback: popcorn, shiny things, and a house to live in | a different daylight

  7. Pingback: 4 things i’m blaming on the snow | a different daylight

tell me what you think..

