a 14 year old speaks: how to drive a car

I’m on the bus. It’s mid-afternoon, the kids are coming out of school. And I just know the next twenty minutes or so are going to yield some teenage wisdom.

on the bus

Two schoolboys, about 14, a few seats behind me. The bus shudders alarmingly as it slows down, approaching the next stop.

Boy 1: Hurry up and stop!

Boy 2 (darkly): There’s more to it than that.

Boy 1: What?

Boy 2 (slowly, as though to impress on his listeners the gravity of his pronouncement): Parking…is the most difficult part of driving.

Boy 1: Why?

Boy 2 (ignoring this): And bus drivers have to do it… [pause while he works it out in his head] …twenty times a DAY.

(Another pause, in which Boy 1 was presumably supposed to exclaim his astonishment at this fact, and admiration of his friend’s wisdom. When this was not forthcoming, Boy 2 continued.)

Boy 2: Driving’s so complicated though. You have to put your foot down-

Boy 1 (eager to display his knowledge): On the gas!

Boy 2 (patient, long-suffering): No, on the clutch pedal. And then you have to use the gear lever-

Boy 1: And the gas!

Boy 2: No – then it’s- [Having got confused, he switches to a different tack.] Manuals are so complicated though. You have to do it all again when you change to a different gear, and then as soon as you’ve done that you have to go up to a different gear, and then again, all the way up to sixth! No… [a world-weary sigh] I much prefer automatics.

Boy 1 (rather lost): Yeah…

Boy 2: I’m tall enough now to drive by myself. I used to sit on my dad’s lap and he did the pedals and I did the steering, but now I’m tall enough to reach the pedals myself.

Boy 1 (genuinely impressed): You did that?!

Boy 2 (nonchalant now): Yeah. I prefer automatics though.

2 Comments

Filed under things i've seen

2 responses to “a 14 year old speaks: how to drive a car

  1. Pingback: a 19 year old speaks: how to impress the in-laws | a different daylight

  2. Thanks for finally talking about >a 14 year old speaks:
    how to drive a car | a different daylight <Liked it!

tell me what you think..

